Account and Team Setup

A Nacelle Account gives you access to the Nacelle Dashboard, where you can manage your organization, spaces, members, and profile. Below is a quick guide to getting started with your account.

For legacy accounts using the legacy dashboard, please see the documentation here: https://nacelle.com/docs/classic-dashboard/account-team-setup?nacelle=v2

Create an account

To create a new account, head to the Nacelle Dashboard, input your email address and create a password, then click Sign Up.

After clicking Sign Up, you’ll be taken to a prompt where you’ll enter your full name.

After signing up, you’ll immediately be prompted to name your organization. The “Organization Name” will be the name reflected throughout the product and the name others will see when you invite them into your organization.

When you’ve successfully created your user account, named your organization, and logged in, you can manage your profile settings by clicking on your avatar at the bottom of the primary navigation pane on the left side of the interface.

Manage your team

You have several options for adding (and removing) members to your organization. You can either add members directly to your organization, select their role, and then grant access to specific spaces, or you can navigate to a specific space and add members directly to that space. Similarly, you can remove a member’s access to specific spaces or remove members from the organization entirely.

Option 1a: Invite members to your org

Adding members to your organization is a good option if you want to add multiple people simultaneously.

To invite members directly to your organization, simply select the “Members” selection from the primary navigation pane under your organization name and click the Invite Members button.

Next, fill out the details in the modal and click the Invite button. An email will be sent to the person you invited.

Option 1b: Remove members from your org

If you want to remove members from your entire organization, you can do so from the “Members” selection under your organization name in the primary navigation pane.

To remove members, click on “Members” in the primary navigation pane under your organization name, and then make sure the “Active” tab is selected. Click on the 3 dot menu icon for the member you’d like to remove and select Remove Member from the menu.

Then, simply verify that you’d like to remove that member, and you’re all done.

Option 2a: Invite members to a specific space

📘

Spaces are containers of commerce and content data derived from your composed data sources. An Org can have many Spaces.

Adding members directly to a space is a good option if you want to quickly add a member directly to the space you currently have selected. You can still set the member to be either an editor or an admin with this option, but if you select the member to be an editor, that member will only have access to that space unless you go into another space and add the member there as well. Please note that adding a member directly to a space also adds that member to your org.

Select a space from the spaces dropdown to invite members directly to the space. Next, click the Add Members button in the top right of the interface.

Alternatively, you can select the “Space Settings” menu option in the primary navigation pane. Then, navigate to the “Members” tab and click the Add Members button in the page's header area.

Next, fill out the details in the modal and click the Invite button. An email will be sent to the person you invited.

Option 2b: Remove members from a specific space

If you want to remove members from specific spaces, you can do so from the “Members” tab in the “Space Settings” selection in the primary navigation pane.

To remove members, click “Space Settings” in the primary navigation pane and select the “Members” tab. Click on the 3 dot menu icon for the member you want to remove and select Remove Member from the menu.

Then, simply verify that you’d like to remove that member, and you’re all done.

Transfer account ownership

It is possible to transfer account ownership from one user to another. This can only be done by the current account owner. When a transfer occurs, the new owner will have unfettered access to the entirety of the organization, while the previous owner will lose this level of access. Once a transfer occurs, the previous owner will remain an admin.

Ownership transfer can be done in two places: the Organization Settings page and the Organization Members page.

1. Organization settings page

Navigate to the Organization Settings page by clicking “Settings” in the primary navigation pane under your organization name.

Click the 1Transfer Ownership1 button next to the current owner's name.

After verifying that you’d like to proceed, select which member you want to make the new owner and then click the Transfer button.

2a. Organization members page – organization owner row

This option allows you to click the 3 dot edit menu for the Organization owner and select which member you’d like to make the new owner.

Navigate to the Organization Members page by clicking “Members” in the primary navigation pane under your organization name. Click the edit menu icon on the organization owner's row and select Transfer Ownership.

After verifying that you’d like to proceed, select the member you want to make the new owner, and click the Transfer button.

2b. Organization members page – non-owner row

This option allows you to click the 3 dot edit menu for any member who is not the owner and transfer ownership directly to this member.

Navigate to the Organization Members page by clicking “Members” in the primary navigation pane under your organization name. Click the edit menu icon on the row of the member you want to transfer ownership to and select Transfer Ownership to [person's name].

Now, simply verify that you want to transfer ownership by clicking the Yes, Transfer button, and you’re all done.